First, we require to make a clear distinction in between merely "shutting off" your account and also in fact erasing it.
Deactivating your Facebook account is a fairly fast and easy procedure, but it will only conceal your account as well as personal details, not clean it entirely off of Facebook's servers.
To deactivate your account, check out the Protection Settings food selection (click the down-arrow in the top-right edge of the screen, pick Account Settings, then click Safety in the left column), click the "Deactivate your account" link, as well as comply with the triggers. Change your mind? Just log back right into Facebook, as well as your profile will certainly be waiting for you.
But what happens if you desire to erase your account completely-- and also permanently? You can, however you'll need to jump with a few more hoops, and also the procedure isn't really instant.
How To Delete Facebook For Good
Here's what you do:
1. The very first step is actually finding the link for deleting your account. One method is to look for "delete account" in the Facebook Help Center, or you could simply click this link.
2. Next, you'll pertain to a page advising what will certainly take place if you delete your account-- namely, that when your account is deleted, you won't be able to recover your details. All set to continue? Click the "Erase My Account" switch.
3. A pop-up home window will appear with yet another caution: "You are regarding to completely remove your account. Are you certain?" You'll then have to enter your Facebook password, then get in a "captcha" safety and security code (a collection of random message, planned to make sure you're not a harmful spambot).
4. All done? Click the "Okay" switch, then examine your inbox for an e-mail confirming that you've asked for that Facebook permanently erase your account.
5. Now comes the time-consuming component. Facebook will not remove your account today-- indeed, you'll need to wait a complete 2 Week for your Facebook profile to be removed permanently. If you have doubts throughout your two-week delay, you could log back right into your account and click the "Cancel Removal" button.
6. Another thing: After Facebook has actually officially removed your account, remember that some of your information could remain on Facebook's back-up servers for as much as 90 days. After that, though, your profile and also other personal data should be entirely wiped off Facebook.